steve jones


Links: Cultivate Project, Newtown, Wales: community gardens, local produce, plant nursery, horticulture training – http://www.cultivate.uk.com/ Garden Planet Biochar – http://www.gardenplanetbiochar.org.uk/ Making Biochar To Improve Soil, Mother Earth News – http://www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/making-biochar-improve-soil-zmaz09fmzraw The Farm, Tennessee – http://www.thefarm.org/ Mushroom People – https://www.mushroompeople.com/ Terra preta – http://www.biochar.info/biochar.terra-preta.cfml Ithaka Institure, biochar – http://www.ithaka-institut.org/en/home Dragons Housing […]

PDC 4/6 – Sunday 05/03/17 – “Integrate rather than segregate”


Links: Cesar Manique, Lanzarote cactus garden – http://www.lanzaroteinformation.com/content/jardin-de-cactus-0 PermoAfrica Centre – https://permoafricacentre.wordpress.com/ Biomimicry Institute, Janine Benyus – https://biomimicry.org/janine-benyus/ Centre for Alternative Technology, Wales – http://www.cat.org.uk/index.html Cowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret – http://www.cowspiracy.com/ Earthship Biotecture, Michael Reynolds – http://earthship.com/ Videos: Doodling in Math: Spirals, Fibonacci and Being a Plant (1 of 3), […]

PDC 4/6 – Sat 04/03/17 – “Design from patterns to ...




Session 5 – Permaculture Design Principle “Use & Value Renewable Resources & Services” Links: Vertical Forest Buildings – www.technocracy.news/index.php/2017/02/07 Forest Gardening, Busoga, Uganda – http://www.sector39.co.uk/blog/?p=6851 Energy, Oil, Economics – https://ourfiniteworld.com/ Atmospheric CO2 – https://www.co2.earth/ Climate Change – https://skepticalscience.com/ Calculator for angle of sun & other info. – http://www.suncalc.org Videos: “Worms […]

PDC Reading 3/6 – P 5 Natural resources



Links: Thrive – Reading-based charity, gardening therapy, education – http://www.thrive.org.uk/ Erleigh Road Community Garden, Reading – https://www.facebook.com/erleighroadcommunitygarden/ Videos: Ron Finley, Guerilla Gardener – http://www.ted.com/talks/ron_finley_a_guerilla_gardener_in_south_central_la Graham Bell, Orchard Management – http://grahambell.org/consultancy/orchard-management/ Water: The Strangest Chemical In The Universe, Guardian Explainers – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0q0ApYZrMTk Potato Control, Michael Pollan – http://www.pbs.org/thebotanyofdesire/potato-control.php Food Inc., Michael […]

PDC Reading; weekend 2/6 P3 Yields



Links: UN: Only Small Farmers and Agroecology Can Feed the World – http://permaculturenews.org/2014/09/26/un-small-farmers-agroecology-can-feed-world/ The Organic Research Centre, Wakelyns Agroforestry – http://www.organicresearchcentre.com/?go=Organic%20Research%20Centre&page=Contact%20us Colin Tudge – http://www.colintudge.com/ Oxford Real Farming Conference – http://orfc.org.uk/blog/ The Campaign for Real Farming and The College for Enlightened Agriculture http://www.campaignforrealfarming.org/ School Global Gardens Network – http://www.globalgardens.org.uk/ Food4Families, […]

PDC 1/6 – Sun 22/01/17 – “Catch & store energy”


Links: Braziers Park, Oxfordshire – http://www.braziers.org.uk/ Holzer Permaculture, Sepp Holzer – http://www.holzerpermaculture.us/ The Chikukwa Project, permaculture in Zimbabwe – http://thechikukwaproject.com/ Chickenshack Housing Co-operative, Wales – http://chickenshack.co.uk/ Atmospheric homeostasis by and for the biosphere: the Gaia hypothesis, James Lovelock – http://www.jameslovelock.org/page34.html Videos: The Overview Effect – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHMIfOecrlo Suggested Reading: Permaculture: A […]

PDC 1/6 – Sat 21/01/17 – “Observe & interact”





I love language and its origins. Today we’ve been discussing permaculture principle No.5: Use and value renewable resources and services. For part of the day we’ve been looking at the flow of food intake into our own bodies and the inevitable output. How do we use and value that? The […]

PDC Day 5: Talking Crap All Day