PDC 4/6 – Sunday 05/03/17 – “Integrate rather than segregate”


Links:

  • Cultivate Project, Newtown, Wales: community gardens, local produce, plant nursery, horticulture training – http://www.cultivate.uk.com/
  • Garden Planet Biochar – http://www.gardenplanetbiochar.org.uk/
  • Making Biochar To Improve Soil, Mother Earth News – http://www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/making-biochar-improve-soil-zmaz09fmzraw
  • The Farm, Tennessee – http://www.thefarm.org/
  • Mushroom People – https://www.mushroompeople.com/
  • Terra preta – http://www.biochar.info/biochar.terra-preta.cfml
  • Ithaka Institure, biochar – http://www.ithaka-institut.org/en/home
  • Dragons Housing Co-operative – http://www.dragons.cymru/sample-page/
  • Roots in Peru, Whole Planet Foundation – https://www.wholeplanetfoundation.org/guest-blog-roots-in-peru-navitas-naturals-began-with-maca/
  • UnLtd, a UK charity that invests in social entrepreneurs – https://unltd.org.uk/
  • Potato Cheese: A 19th Century English Ferment, Kitchen Counter Culture – https://kitchencounterculture121.wordpress.com/
  • Triodos Bank – https://www.triodos.com/en/about-triodos-bank/
  • Holmgren Design, David Holmgren – https://holmgren.com.au/?v=3a1ed7090bfa
  • The Permaculture Academy – http://www.permacultureacademy.com/
  • Edward de Bono – https://www.edwdebono.com/debono/wl.htm
  • Edward de Bono’s 6 Thinking Hats, Sustainable Communities – http://www.sustainablecommunities.vic.gov.au/files/6ThinkingHatsHandout.pdf
  • Catalyst Co-operative, co-operative registration & development – http://catalystcollective.org/
  • Racical Routes, housing co-operatives network – http://radicalroutes.org.uk/
  • Diggers and Dreamers, intentional communities – http://www.diggersanddreamers.org.uk/

Videos:

  • An Economic Reality Check, Tim Jackson – https://www.ted.com/talks/tim_jackson_s_economic_reality_check/transcript
  • Guns, Germs and Steel, Jared Diamond/National Geographic – James https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojU31yHDqiM
  • Combatting the Climate Crisis: from Science to Action, James Hansen – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DfP6q-D9coM

Suggested Reading:

  • Contour/slope measurement – http://www.harvestingrainwater.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/05/Bunyip-Water-Levels-and-A-Frame-Levels-Appendix-2.pdf
  • The Biochar Solution, Albert Bates – https://www.newsociety.com/Books/B/The-Biochar-Solution
  • Guns, Germs and Steel, Jared Diamond – http://www.jareddiamond.org/Jared_Diamond/Guns,_Germs,_and_Steel.html
  • The World Until Yesterday, Jared Diamond – http://www.jareddiamond.org/Jared_Diamond/The_World_Until_Yesterday.html
  • Silent Spring, Rachel Carson – http://rachelcarson.org/SilentSpring.aspx

Topics and key points included:

  • Hugelkultur – raised garden beds
  • Measurement of contours/slopes, e.g. use of A-frames & bunyips
  • Biochar, a bio-active soil enhancer
  • Biochar retains water in the soil, e.g. 1g of biochar can hold 3g of water
  • Carbon cycle
  • Climate change
  • Sequestration of carbon to reduce atmospheric carbon dioxide
  • Mushroom cultivation, e.g. shiitake mushrooms, which contain all the essential amino acids
  • Terra preta, deep soil rich in charcoal in the Amazon basin
  • Co-operatives
  • Intentional communities
  • Fermentation

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

− 2 = 3